Ten Shadow Work Tips

A man on the mend’s introduction to the truly transformative power of embracing one’s shadow

Martin O'Toole
3 min readMay 18, 2023

--

Photo by Mukuko Studio on Unsplash

Originating from Carl Jung’s psychoanalytic theory, shadow work is a metamorphic mission into the depths of the psyche, unearthing aspects we often suppress, deny, or in some cases, are unaware of. The aim? To observe and integrate these facets of our self, thus cultivating consciousness. It’s more than a mere introspective quest; it’s a deep dive into fear, shame, and guilt — to meet our “shadow self”.

“Shadow work has not been examined in any research studies, so it’s difficult to prove its efficacy as a practice,” says Dr Gauri Khurana, an NYC psychiatrist and clinical instructor at Yale University School of Medicine. But based on her patients’ experiences, she notes that shadow work can help integrate different parts of yourself and foster a sense of unity in your mind and personality.

I dove into my shadow work in two tranches. The first was during my early therapy sessions, shortly after my mum died. The second was after my introduction to the Ayahuasca and Huachuma psychedelic plant medicines. Next was combining it with a meditation practice.

I may have been guilty of a little spiritual bypassing during this process, as I conveniently avoided a scheduled one-to-one with my…

--

--

Martin O'Toole

Psychedelic integration coach and counsellor, How To Die Happy author, podcaster, and mental health advocate writing about healing and the Anatomy of Happy.